Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (June 27th)


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Breaking the Spine. We all get together to show each other books we can't wait to get our hands on.

This week's can't-wait-to-read-it selection is:

Lies, Knives and Girls in Red Dresses
by Ron Koertge
Writing in free verse honed to a wicked edge, the incomparable Ron Koertge brings dark and contemporary humor to twenty iconic fairy tales.

Once upon a time, there was a strung-out match girl who sold CDs to stoners. Twelve impetuous sisters escaped King Daddy's clutches to jiggle and cavort and wear out their shoes. A fickle Thumbelina searched for a tiny husband, leaving bodies in her wake. And Little Red Riding Hood confessed that she kind of wanted to know what it's like to be swallowed whole. From bloodied and blinded stepsisters (they were duped) to a chopped-off finger flying into a heroine's cleavage, this is fairy tale world turned upside down. Ron Koertge knows what really happened to all those wolves and maidens, ogres and orphans, kings and piglets, and he knows about the Ever After.

So come closer - he wants to whisper in your ear.

This book is definitely a roll of the dice for me. On one hand, I like anything to do with fairy tales. On the other, this looks like the author is planning to fracture them and give them contemporary treatment. That could intrigue me, or it could tick me off. Add to this the fact that I've never actually picked up a book written in free verse before and I think I am safe in saying my thoughts on this certainly won't be boring. I usually try to play it safe, picking things I am confident that I will love. But sometimes risk is necessary to learn more about what will effect us as readers, and I think that this book is worth taking a chance on.

So, what are you looking forward to this week? Link up and I'll do my best to come visit you. :) 

21 comments:

  1. I like inside-out fairy tales too- though, like you, I'm not sure how irreverent I like them to be. The Thumbelina one does sound good though...

    Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This looks awesome. And I like the cover as well. Thanks for sharing :)

    Jennifer @ Dream Reads

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hm. Haven't heard about this one before. Sounds interesting.

    Thanks for stopping by,
    @ Livin' Life Through Books

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds lovely! I hope you enjoy it when it comes out :)

    Here is my WoW post. Check it out? ;)

    -Maxine @ Teenage Fiction

    ReplyDelete
  5. Haven't heard of this one before, but it could go either way for me to when reading it. It's got to be done right!

    Our WoW is at Book Sake. –Jessica

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have to admit that this sounds a little bit weird, but still quite awesome. :D Haven't heard of it before, so thank you very much for sharing!

    Carina
    Fictional Distraction

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, this sounds awesome and I love the cover!

    My WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm always intrigued by books in verse. Great pick :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I've never heard of this one or read any books written in verse, but I might have to buy this just for the cover!

    Books of Amber

    ReplyDelete
  10. This book looks amazing. I can't wait for it. Love the blog! I followed on GFC.

    my WOW

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm pretty excited to read this one. I received an ARC for review, and am looking forward to starting it. Thanks for sharing!

    MaryAnn@ Chapter by Chapter
    Our WoW

    ReplyDelete
  12. This looks incredibly interesting! I'm a fan of fairy tales, so I'm going to have to add this to my TBR list! It definitely doesn't sound like anything I've ever read before.

    Great pick, Kathy! =)

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    ReplyDelete
  13. Great pick! This sounds really interesting. I love fairy tales and this sounds like a interesting twist. Also I really like the cover!

    Thanks for stopping by my post!
    Traci @ The Reading Geek

    ReplyDelete
  14. Oh wow, that sounds interesting. I love fairytales and retellings, but this is definitely something I've never heard of before. Can be fascinating (but I'm really scared that he messes up the fairytales I love dearly.) On to the Goodreads list ^^ Thanks!

    http://thedailyprophecy.blogspot.nl/2012/06/waiting-on-wednesday-15.html

    ReplyDelete
  15. I love that cover! It definitely looks like the book could go either way and be the most awesome book ever or be a horrific take on fairy tales. lol
    Retellings are always hit or miss for me but this looks promising.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for visiting my blog. I love comments! Please feel free to tell me what you think about my blog and the things I am posting. I enjoy hearing what others think. :)

You Might Also Like:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...